Background Image

Local Information

Churchdown is a semi rural parish. It has wonderful countryside all around the area, a good choice of housing, shopping areas and all the facilities you would expect in a modern area. Churchdown Parish is served by Tewkesbury Borough councilChurchdown boasts Boarding Kennels, a Chemist, Chinese Restaurant, Indian Restaurant, Day Nursery, Dentist, Doctors, Estate Agents, Fish & Chip Shop, Funeral Director, Garden Centre, Library, Optician, Petrol Station, Post Office, Residential Care Home, Sheltered Housing, Supermarkets, pubs and cofee shops, various shops,and 2 vetinerary practicies.

LEISURE

Churchdown has an eighteen hole golf course and driving range on its outskirts at Brickhampton, and an inline and skateboard facility at Churchdown Park.Churchdown also boasts numerous football pitches and rugby pitches, as well as sports halls at both Churchdown and Chosen Hill schools. Youth football is active through the Churchdown Panthers, who play mostly in the Cheltenham FA league. The Chosen Hill Former Pupils rugby club first team plays in the South West League and has an active youth section.

CHURCHES

BUS NETWORK

Bus services are operated by Stagecoach West. Three services pass through Churchdown The 94 Gold Service, between Cheltenham and Gloucester passes through on Cheltenham Road East, Every 10 minutes. There are also the 97/98 routes which also run between Cheltenham and Gloucester but take a different, Longer route between the two towns. In the village the 97 runs via Parton Road and the 98 via Pirton Lane.

HISTORY

Churchdown has several interesting old structures including the Old School House on The Green, where the first village school was held, Ye Old House on Sandfield Road (thought to have been built in the 16th century), Dunstan Cottage in Chapel Hay Lane and The Cottage on Oldbury Orchard. On The Green stands a house where Beatrix Potter stayed, when she visited Gloucester in 1901, hence her famous story “The Tailor of Gloucester” Churchdown Railway Station The station was situated on the main line between Birmingham and Bristol. The railway line between Cheltenham and Gloucester opened on 4 November 1840 The final section of the Birmingham and Gloucester Railway (B&G) which had been authorised in 1836. At first, there were no intermediate stations. On 9 August 1842 the first station at Churchdown was opened by the B&G; it proved to be temporary, being closed again on 27 September. On 22 August 1843, a station opened closer to Cheltenham at nearby Badgworth. Both stations were built in response to request from the residents of Badgeworth for a station closer than Cheltenham or Gloucester; Churchdown was the first choice of the railway company since it was closer to the half-way point between the two towns. The permanent station at Churchdown was opened on 2 February 1874, and was the joint property of the Midland Railway (successor to the B&G) and the Great Western Railway, who had shared the line since 1847. The station closed on 2 November 1964, as part of the reshaping of British Railways by Dr Beeching.

OTHER INFORMATION

The village has two main rows of shops, a Tesco Supermarket and two pubs – the Hare and Hounds near St John’s, and the Bat and Ball near St Andrew’s. There is also a Working Men’s Club (Churchdown Club) located in Church Road where games of bowls and tennis sometimes take place, and Churchdown Community Centre on Parton Road which houses Churchdown Social Club, and in which various functions are held and skittles on two alleys.

Password reset link will be sent to your email